Famous diamonds from India
Diamonds are billions of years old. They form about 150 kilometers below the ground and are carried to the earth’s surface by deep volcanic eruptions. They are made of a single chemical element, carbon. Under immense heat and pressure far below the earth’s surface, the carbon atoms bond in a unique way that results in the beautiful and rare crystalline structure of diamonds. They are the hardest natural substance known to man.
Collected and traded in India as early as the fourth century BC, they are also mined in Brazil, South Africa, Canada, Botswana, Namibia, and Russia now. But these precious stones found in the vast mines of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana many hundred years ago now adorn crowns and museums worldwide. Listed here are clues about some famous diamonds from India. Can you find out their names? The answers are given right below the quiz.

Answers to the quiz

Daria-i-Noor, the most celebrated diamond in the Iranian Crown Jewels and one of the oldest known to man, like the Koh-i-Noor, was mined in Vijayanagara Empire in present day Karnataka. It was originally owned by the Kakatiya dynasty but later looted by the Khilji dynasty of Turkic origin.
The Nizam Diamond, an almond shaped gem found at Kollur mine in Andhra Pradesh is believed to be the most famous diamond from the 1800s. It weighed around 340 carats. Also known as the Great White Diamond, it is ranked fifth in the world in size.
Found in the 17th century in Golkonda, Andhra Pradesh, the Orlov is a large diamond that is currently displayed as part of the collection of the Diamond Fund of the Moscow Kremlin. It is described as having the shape and proportions of half a chicken’s egg.
The Nassak Diamond, also known as the Eye of the Idol originated in the 15th century in India. Found in the Amaragiri mine in Mahbubnagar in Telangana State, the diamond adorned the deity in the Triambakeshwar Shiva Temple, near Nashik, Maharashtra, for at least 300 years before it was stolen by the British.
Getting its name from the capitol of Saxony, where it has been on display for more than 200 years, the Dresden Green Diamond is a 41 carat natural green diamond also from the Kollur mine of Andhra Pradesh. The green color is usually caused by the crystal coming into contact with a radioactive source at some point during its lifetime of millions of years under the earth’s surface.